Early Years Funding Somerset

Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years foundation stage:

Link to https://www.gov.uk/early-years-foundation-stage 

The Early Years Foundation Stage is the learning and development framework for children from birth to the end of their first year in school (reception class)

The EYFS is divided into seven areas of Learning and Development. The prime areas:-

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These areas are focused on heavily in the 0-3 years. They are referred to as “foundations for future learning” as success in the other specific areas is dependent on the child being secure in the Prime Areas.

Specific Areas:-

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Assessing your child

A large part of our role is continual assessment of your child to ensure that their needs are fully met and they ultimately achieve their full potential. At The Brambles Day Nursery we use an online development profile that records your child’s progress. Every parent is provided with their own password so they can access their own child’s development profile and also add their own observations and videos from home. This is an amazing programme that allows parents to contribute to their own child’s learning.
More information will be provided after registering